Knights of Walpurgis

Drink from the Cup of the Accursed

In Uncategorized on May 29, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Accursed. That is what I consider myself while in this sorry state. I am currently sick with the most annoying sickness of all time: colds. This sickness is so common that it is almost impossible that you know anyone who did not have a cold ever in his/her life. The common cold is caused by the rhinovirus and, like all viruses, there is no real cure but time and a healthy immune system. No matter how germophobic and paranoid you are (like me), you cannot avoid having a cold at least once a year.

I have tried almost every known precaution such as sanitizing my hand to prevent infection and I consciously avoid people who have the cold but no matter how hard I try to, I still get sick. Since it is a virus, in theory, a vaccine can be made to make a person immune to the virus. However, there are numerous strains of the virus making it impossible to have complete immunity to the effects of cold virus. Social pressure also convinced to stop some bad habits of mine which would leave me exposed to colds. I am just at the second day of infection and I hope that the infection have already reached its peak and it is a downhill for the cold from that point on.

The title of the article comes from the fact that the viruses are so ubiquitous that it is possible to be infected just by drinking from the cup containing the virus. I also have mild pain in the back of my neck and in the edge of my left eye. Dr. House can you help me?

Here are the dates when I was infected with colds:

20 November 2009

3 March 2010

7 June 2010

18 September 2010

16 February 2011

28 May 2011

Leave a Reply

